Waiting, waiting

Yes, I’m going quietly insane. Well, maybe not so quietly, but anyway…..

So, I have been sewing, sewing, sewing. I have a bunch of bags ready to be assembled and sold once my labels arrive. Unfortunately the woman making my labels was very ill and then her machine broke down so still with the waiting! Not her fault, but very annoying.
Anyway, I thought I would do a kind of preview of these works in progress to whet your appetites.

This first bag is fully assembled and gives a good idea of how they work. The bags are what I call inside-out bags, in that they can be reversed and used whichever way suits your mood. They also all have cord as part of the body to give the bag structure and strength.
I love this butterfly design, both the fabric and the applique seem to work well together.

Butterfly applique pocket

This is the reverse, a bit more toned down but still lots of butterflies.

Butterfly reverse

This unfinished bag isn’t really to my taste with the hot pink and black being very striking (I’m more of an earthy colours type), but I know plenty of people who do like it so thought I would give it a go.
The applique on this one is interesting as it uses both cotton and fleece, making it lovely and tactile.

Hot flowers

The strips hanging down beside each of the bags are the straps that will be attached once the labels arrive!

Hot flowers reverse

I really like this fabric, I made a couple of christmas presents using it matched with a dark burgundy cord, the light mauve makes it a bit brighter though.

Mauve flowers

Mauve flowers applique pocket

A rare spotlight find! I am also contemplating making a basic mei tai with this and a dark burgundy cord.

Funky mauve

Funky mauve reverse

I couldn’t decide on an applique for this one. Being so busy I figured the material could stand on its own. I really love this material and am going to go buy some more to make Miss 4 a retro style dress or shirt. If it wasn’t so expensive I’d be making myself one.

Psychedelic on black

Psychedelic on black in reverse

And finally the applique panel for the mei tai I am going to make.
I plan for the mei tai to have lovely chocolate chord straps and the reverse panel will be an autumn themed cord (can you tell I love corduroy?).

Mei Tai panel work in progress

So there you have it, there are lots of other things in the works, including some bags made using upcycled materials and wrap around skirts for kids and mummas.
Hope you enjoyed the preview πŸ™‚

PS If anyone wants to give me tips on photographing my wares (apart from the fact that ironing them first would be good) please feel free!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth
    Apr 10, 2010 @ 20:25:58

    Tips on photographing: maybe get your friends to model them? Get shots of the bags / slings “in action”! Otherwise shoot them outside – in natural light – maybe lay them flat on a white background (a sheet, or large piece of white poster board from the newsagent). Good luck!

    Reply

  2. Selene
    Apr 11, 2010 @ 23:07:15

    They all look so gorgeous! I’d love to come take some photos with my fancy pants camera one day. I’m not super professional or anything, but would love to play round with it all. πŸ˜€

    Reply

Leave a Reply

