Skirts, skirts, skirts

To say I have been neglectful of this blog would be, well, very true. Life is busy and I often forget to update on here what I have been up to. I have been working on a new line of skirts for girls. After seeing the difficulty my daughter has with the wrap skirts I decided I needed to do something she could easily put on and take off herself. She loves her tree wrap around skirt, but being 5 and wanting to be able to dress independently (well, most of the time) means she rarely wears it. So when I started working on a skirt requested by a good friend’s daughter I decided to try an elasticated waist.

Work in progress


I was very happy with the end result, as were my friend and her daughter. The only issue has been the loss of detail with the skirt gathering due to the elastic, something I am looking for a solution to at the moment.

The finished product - definitely one of my favourites


Next I decided to do an octopuses garden skirt. I love all those fun themes that are rarely seen on clothes for kids these days. Generally I start with a picture of a scene either in my head or on paper. Then it’s a matter of mixing and matching fabrics and colours until it feels right.

Templates, colours and balance


It’s not until I have it all laid out in front of me that I really know what will work best.

Cut and testing placement


Its also interesting how different the picture can look once it is sewn.

An Octopuses Garden

I think clothing should be fun as well as practical and I have so many design ideas in my head, it’s just a matter of finding the time to bring them to reality. I have made a few more skirts over the past few months, some of which have found homes all over Australia.

Autumn Fire


Go Green!


Go Green in Spirals


I have lots more in the works. I also want to start making appliqued pants for boys as I know my two feel they are missing out at the moment, so much so that my almost 3 year old insisted on modeling the skirts too.

Its a bit big, but he doesn't care!


I think the kids love them so much because they are tactile as well as interesting. You can feel the shapes and the different textures of fabric.
I have decided to offer any clothing I make for sale on facebook for a week before listing it on etsy as I know the fans of my facebook page would like first option, and rightly so ;).
For the moment I am working on some custom skirts which have been ordered. These consist of some full length adult wrap skirts in gorgeous velveteen, more cord wraps for both adults and kids and some pants as requested by two very special boys. I hope to share some of them with you soon.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kris
    May 10, 2011 @ 22:44:30

    The autumn fire skirt is about to make its Tasmanian debut – do you still have the leaf skirt for sale? I’d love to buy that for Fern or Isla depending on what size it is. They’re truly lovely.

    Reply

  2. Selene
    May 11, 2011 @ 21:11:35

    Oh, I love the Octopus’ garden! And the new tops on the skirts are great, I’m glad you’ve got the elastic option, now, Lolly lives by the 3 year old creed “I do it myself!!” I’d love one for her, in a 4-5? I’ll message you, too xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

